# WASHINGTON ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT FINANCE AUTHORITY (WEDFA)

### \*\*MINUTES\*\*

# December 11, 2019 Regular Meeting 1:30 P.M.

## **Meeting Location**

1000 2<sup>nd</sup> Avenue, Suite 2700 Seattle, WA 98104

Board members Present:	Vincent Santiago, Chair Josephine Tamayo Murray, Vice Chair John Comerford, Secretary Juan Aguilar Senator Sharon Brown Cara Coon Patrick Capper Kathy Elias Jennifer Dickinson Michael Guy John Kilpatrick Jason Richter Representative Sharon Wylie
Board members Absent:	Ollie Garrett Senator Karen Keiser
WEDFA Staff Present:	Rodney Wendt, Executive Director Molly Abbey, Program Administrator Michael Nelson, Assistant Attorney General

A roll call was taken and it was determined that a quorum was present.

#### **Meeting Minutes**

The minutes of the 11/13/2019 regular meeting were before the board. There were no objections or proposed changes, and, after a voice vote, the Chair announced that the minutes were unanimously approved.

#### Resolution No. W-2019-11

The Chair introduced Resolution No. W-2019-11, to approve the issuance of up to \$18,000,000 for Carpenters-Employers Apprenticeship and Training Trust Fund of Washington-Idaho Revenue and Refunding Bonds.

Following discussion, Josephine Tamayo Murray moved for adoption of Resolution No. W-2019-11. Juan Aguilar seconded the motion. Subsequently, all members listed above as present voted for adoption of the resolution in a roll call vote, and the motion was unanimously approved with no abstentions

#### Approval of 2020 Regular Meeting Schedule

Following discussion of the matter, John Comerford moved for approval of the 2020 Regular Meeting Schedule. Cara Coon seconded the motion. Subsequently, the Chair called for a roll call vote, and all members listed above as present voted for approval of the schedule, and the motion was unanimously approved with no abstentions.

#### Executive Session

At 1:53 p.m., the Chair called for an executive session to discuss the Executive Director's performance, and, after declaring that the executive session would end, and the public meeting reconvene, at 2:03 p.m., excused the Executive Director, Program Administrator and members of the public from the meeting.

At 2:03 p.m., the executive session was ended and the Executive Director, Program Administrator and members of the public were asked to rejoin the meeting.

## Establishment of the Executive Director Salary

The Chair asked whether there was a motion to establish the Executive Director's 2020 salary at 100% of the current level, effective January 1, 2020, to be further adjusted by any changes required by state law, as and when such state law changes are implemented. John Comerford so moved and Kathy Elias seconded the motion. Subsequently, by a roll call vote, all members listed above as present voted for approval of the motion, and the motion was unanimously adopted with no abstentions.

#### Resolution No. W-2019-12

The Chair introduced Resolution No. W-2019-12, which is the approval of the 2020 budget, and in particular authorizes staff to expend money within the overall expense level set in the budget.

Following discussion, Josephine Tamayo Murray moved for adoption of Resolution No. W-2019-12. Juan Aguilar seconded the motion. Subsequently, Vincent Santiago, Josephine Tamayo Murray, John Comerford, Juan Aguilar, Senator Sharon Brown, Patrick Capper, Cara Coon, Kathy Elias, Michael Guy, John Kilpatrick and Jason Richter voted for approval of the resolution in a roll call vote, and the resolution was unanimously adopted with no abstentions.

#### Adjournment

The meeting was adjourned.