WASHINGTON ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT FINANCE AUTHORITY (WEDFA)

MINUTES

December 9, 2020 Regular Meeting 2:00 P.M.

Meeting Location
By Video and Telephone Only
(Per Governor's Proclamation 20-28)

Board members Present: Vincent Santiago, Chair

Josephine Tamayo Murray, Vice Chair

John Comerford, Secretary

Juan Aguilar Patrick Capper Cara Coon

Jennifer Dickinson

Kathy Elias

Senator Karen Keiser

John Kilpatrick Jason Richter

Representative Sharon Wylie

Board members Absent: Senator Sharon Brown

Ollie Garrett Michael Guy

WEDFA Staff Present: Rodney Wendt, Executive Director

Molly Abbey, Program Administrator

Michael Nelson, Assistant Attorney General

Members of the Public

Present: Mary Edwards

Radi Simeonova

A roll call was taken and it was determined that a quorum was present.

Meeting Minutes

The minutes of the 11/12/2020 regular meeting were before the board. There were no objections or proposed changes, and, after a voice vote, the Chair announced that the minutes were unanimously approved.

Resolution No. W-20120-14

The Chair introduced Resolution No. W-20120-14, to approve document amendments for Carpenters Trust Economic Development Revenue Bonds, Series 2017.

Following discussion, Josephine Tamayo Murray moved for adoption of Resolution No. W-2020-14. Juan Aguilar seconded the motion. Subsequently, Vincent Santiago, Josephine Tamayo Murray, John Comerford, Juan Aguilar, Patrick Capper, Cara Coon, Jennifer Dickinson, Kathy Elias, Senator Karen Keiser, John Kilpatrick and Jason Richter voted for approval of the resolution in a roll call vote, and the motion was unanimously approved with no abstentions.

Resolution No. W-20120-15

The Chair introduced Resolution No. W-20120-15, to approve document amendments for Goodwill of the Olympics & Rainier Region Economic Development Revenue Bonds, Series 2016.

Following discussion, Josephine Tamayo Murray moved for adoption of Resolution No. W-2020-15. Juan Aguilar seconded the motion. Subsequently, Vincent Santiago, Josephine Tamayo Murray, John Comerford, Juan Aguilar, Patrick Capper, Cara Coon, Jennifer Dickinson, Kathy Elias, Senator Karen Keiser, John Kilpatrick, Jason Richter and Representative Sharon Wylie voted for approval of the resolution in a roll call vote, and the motion was unanimously approved with no abstentions.

Approval of 2021 Regular Meeting Schedule

Following discussion of the matter, Josephine Tamayo Murray moved for approval of the 2021 Regular Meeting Schedule. Juan Aguilar seconded the motion. Subsequently, Vincent Santiago, Josephine Tamayo Murray, John Comerford, Juan Aguilar, Patrick Capper, Cara Coon, Jennifer Dickinson, Kathy Elias, Senator Karen Keiser, John Kilpatrick, Jason Richter and Representative Sharon Wylie voted for approval of the resolution in a roll call vote, and the motion was unanimously approved with no abstentions.

Executive Session

At 2:31 p.m., the Chair called for an executive session to discuss the Executive Director's performance, and, after declaring that the executive session would end, and the public meeting reconvene, at 2:40 p.m., excused the Executive Director, Program Administrator and members of the public from the meeting.

At 2:41, the Chair announced that the executive session would be extended until 2:47. At 2:47 p.m., the executive session was ended and the Executive Director, Program Administrator and members of the public were asked to rejoin the meeting.

Establishment of the Executive Director Salary

The Chair asked whether there was a motion to establish the Executive Director's 2021 salary at 100% of the current level, effective January 1, 2021, to be further adjusted by any changes required by state law, as and when such state law changes are implemented. Senator Karen Keiser so moved and Kathy Elias seconded the motion. Subsequently, by a roll call vote, all members listed above as present voted for approval of the motion, and the motion was unanimously adopted with no abstentions.

Resolution No. W-2020-16

The Chair introduced Resolution No. W-2020-16, which is the approval of the 2021 budget, and in particular authorizes staff to expend money within the overall expense level set in the budget.

Following discussion, Jennifer Dickinson moved for adoption of Resolution No. W-2020-16. John Comerford seconded the motion. Subsequently, Vincent Santiago, Josephine Tamayo Murray, John Comerford, Juan Aguilar, Patrick Capper, Cara Coon, Jennifer Dickinson, Kathy Elias, Senator Karen Keiser, John Kilpatrick, Jason Richter and Representative Sharon Wylie voted for approval of the resolution in a roll call vote, and the motion was unanimously approved with no abstentions.

Adjournment

The meeting was adjourned.